Gail of Green Living


More Odd Couples in the Garden

In early July, I posted about Odd Couples in the Garden, and I continue to find them in this hot, dry spell we are having in Houston.  Since my gardening is confined to containers, I must water every day during this time.

I have the prettiest basil in the pots with my Amaryllis bulbs!  The original basil plant is just on the other side of this pot, and it looks really terrible at this point, but it certainly sent out lots of seeds in neighboring pots to take over!

Bush Tomato

This bush tomato still hasn’t been transplanted into another pot.  I did transplant the other, and it is doing great, and like I suspected, it is a grape/cherry tomato and already has tomatoes on it.  First cloudy day, I promise to transplant it!

Cilantro and Company

This is the pot where I plant Cilantro in the Fall and early Spring.  A seed fell in the pot and the poor plant is struggling through the heat.  On the right, we have a sturdy Bluebonnet starting.  The bluebonnets were next to this pot in the Spring.  And on the left, we have another stray tomato.  I think I’m moving this family to the shade!

Have you adopted any stray plants and had success?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Amaryllis and basil, I like that combo!

Comment by lulu

Hello,
My name is Ben and i am fairly new to ‘green’ living. I enjoy your blog and your gardening tips. I really enjoy gardening. Are you familiar with renewable energy certificates?

Comment by faith1stnetworkmarketer

I think I’ve heard of them, but not sure how they work. Since I am not using any solar panels or generating energy in any way, I haven’t investigated the details.

Comment by Gail of Green Living




Leave a Reply

