Gail of Green Living


Odd Couples in the Garden
July 6, 2012, 8:45 am
Filed under: Gardening, Green Living | Tags: , , , ,

Tomato/Amaryllis

I think I have a couple of odd couples in my garden.  This tomato plant has sprouted and grown to a decent size without my even noticing it!  I think it must be a cherry tomato variety, but that’s just a guess.  I know the Amaryllis is a giant red bloom, and the flowers are stunning and dramatic every Spring!

Tomato/Amaryllis

Now, this tomato plant has a more stout stem and is more compact, so I’m guessing it is a Better Bush.  These amaryllis pots are less than two feet apart.  What do you suppose happened to create these odd couples in my garden?  My guess is that the squirrels and birds took their snack from my tomato plants, perched on the side of this pot to eat, and the seeds fell in the pot.

There is not much soil in these pots, because the bulbs don’t require it.  I will try to carefully transfer these plants to other pots, to give myself a headstart on my Fall Garden!

Do you ever have an Odd Couple in your garden?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Yes, Phil and me!

Comment by lulu




Leave a Reply

