Gail of Green Living


The Dirty Dozen: Pesticides on the Menu

The Dirty Dozen

The Dirty Dozen refers to fruits and vegetables we buy fresh at the supermarket, and how loaded they are with pesticides.

Here’s the list:

1.  Apples

2.  Celery

3.  Strawberries

4.  Peaches

5.  Spinach

6.  Nectarines, especially imported

7.  Imported grapes (Hold the wine!)

8.  Sweet bell peppers

9.  Potatoes

10.  Blueberries

11.  Lettuce

12.  Kale & Collards (Tie)

I have been doing all right except for peaches and potatoes.  I think last summer I was equating “local” with organic”, which is stupid of me, but I get so hungry for fresh peaches in the summer, I guess I wasn’t careful enough.  Potatoes???  I thought since they were below ground, they would not be so susceptible to pesticides, but if the farmer uses systemic pesticides, it makes sense that they are full of them.  I don’t recall seeing organic potatoes, but I’m going to look closely tonight when I do my weekend shopping.

Everyone, be aware and more careful when you feed your family and friends…and yourself!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment