Gail of Green Living


Early Spring Garden–More Real Food

Straight 8 Cucumbers

Last year, my cucumbers were productive and tasted wonderful, but I would give the planting in the pot a D+.  When summer winds started blowing, the tomato cages blew over with the heavy cucumbers and after about four “recoveries”, I gave up.  This year, I planted organic seeds indoors, then transplanted them into two large pots, but the big difference is that I placed the pots on the south side of the house, and …

Cucumbers with bamboo trellis

I hung a bamboo trellis from the eave of the house.  We will see how well these cucumber vines fare this year.  They should get plenty of sun.

Pinto Beans

I promise the seed package said these were bush beans, but they are climbing up the tomato cage.  Unlike the cucumbers, the beans will not be heavy.  And they will not even be around very long, because Pinto Beans are not fond of hot weather.  But I hope to get enough to eat at least one meal.

California Wonder Bell Peppers

This is last year’s bell pepper plant.  I pruned it recently and it already has blooms.  These peppers are so delicious, with thin skin and few seeds.  I am adding epsom salts to make the leaves green again.

Don’t forget that your container plants require plant food more often, and only use organic.  There are so many now, and no one needs chemicals!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m impressed with your vegetable gardening, Gail.

Comment by Carol Walter Russell

Our mustard greens are so delicious, so much better than even the organic at the store! It’s so rewarding! Thanks for your comment, Carol!

Comment by Gail of Green Living




Leave a Reply

